#5

10Feb10

I’ve been in Brooklyn, NY since Monday night and it’s getting tough for me to want to leave and go back to the daily grind of Philadelphia. The grey, depressing bullshit and my impending con-current psychiatric evaluation with my boyfriend. I already know I’m crazy and depressed. Just gimmie pills and let me leave.  The last few days have been pretty bangin. On Monday I arrived at the Chinatown bus station and my love, Catherine and her brother met me. We went over to Stanton Public and then The Library where we out a ton of songs on the jukebox but don’t remember hearing one we actually requested. Yesterday I spent running the M and J trains back and forth from Brooklyn to Manhattan to Brooklyn and back. I finally found the Ricky’s NYC and bought a beautiful wig, which I wore out last night and it went over real well. We went to Karaoke at Stanton and I sang 99 Problems by Jay-Z and Janis Joplin’s Me and Bobby McGee. Afterwards, my friend Darnell and I swooped over to Happy Endings to meet up with my friend Igor from drivenbyboredom.com for a photoshoot. There we met this interesting duo named Devon and Dana who were doing this whole 80’s thing and had the whole Party Monster rules DOWN. We danced the night away with them and some adorable little girl who’s bowtie I tied. Igor showed up and we did a fabulous photo shoot in the Happy Endings bathroom, which should be good because I’ve gotten off drugs an lost 20 pounds since the last time he shot me. Keep up on drivenbyboredom and play guess who I am, which I’m sure most of you already have. We grabbed the first cab we could find out of there, found a creepy weird packet of pills on the floor of the cab with russian writing out of it that I refused to touch because THEY WERE SCARY. Then, when we finally got back to Brooklyn, the cab driver pretended to be lost, Darnell’s card wouldn’t swipe, the guy kept calling him “my friend” which usually means “you fucking asshole” in Indian. I had to wrestle Darnell’s card out of his hand to get it paid because he almost didn’t pay. The cab drive kept getting out of the cab and scary me. Darnell kept yelling “—- —- let’s go!! we’re not paying this fucking asshole!” so we finally got it paid and they driver asked how much tip and Darnell says “HOW ABOUT ZERO!?”and we rush to the house. I promptly passed out until 2pm. And now here I am snowed into Brooklyn.



One Response to “#5”

  1. I love your words and the rawness of the images you create with them. Weather will probably have you stuck in NY for a minute, so have fun with it. Have you ever traveled to Columbus,Ohio? You ought to come out some time. There’s a cool dark side of things here that give the city a heartbeat worth feeling pulse every now and then. Would love to show you around someday if you ever find your way out this direction…
    Keep your head up, stay beautiful(its more than just your appearance,don’t forget that), and most importantly, breathe…


Leave a comment